Feral hog suggestions

Redfish1

A friend of mine gave me a leg and shoulder. I was going to brine it like pork belly and try

either hickory/cherry or that savory herb. I trying for that sandwich ham flavor.:D:D

Big Poppa

Administrator
I cant help you with feral hogs...feral cats? I am an expert! Just kidding there is a poster here TXPGA pro that should be by to help on this

cowgirl

If you want the ham flavor try adding cure to your brine. Mortons Tenderquick is an easy one to use.. it's pre-mixed with salt so keep that in mind when adding additional seasonings.
Depending on the size of the leg and shoulder, you will probably need to inject the brine/cure too for even curing.
Something that large will need to cure for several days for "ham".
If you just want to treat it like smoked pork, brining overnight without cure should be enough. I'd also inject though.

Just some thoughts.... Good luck with it!

txpgapro

I never brine my hogs. I do make sure that the hog is a sow no more than 100 pounds or so. Want some fat on the pig as well. For a binder I use plain ol' Worchestershire or a blend like Claude's or Allegro. Then rub your rub in good prior to smoking. If you do want "ham" you might brine. I like mine more of a pulled pork texture. Smoke around 225* for 8 hours.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

ACW3

Hey Redfish1,