Who taught you.........

CarterQ

How to cook?

Sitting around reflecting today, Father's day is always a day of mixed emotions for me since my dad passed away a few years back. But I was thinking back on all the great times we had together and so many came back to times around a grill.

Now my dad was by no means a BBQ star and my mom was not Julia Child but they held their own so I would call both of them a great influence.

For the most part though I am self taught when it comes to cooking, I love to play with my food and once in awhile I learn something in the process. Have picked up a lot of stuff about BBQ and cooking by just hangin out and watching, cookbooks, and of course forums like this where a wealth of knowledge gets shared.

What about you? Where did you learn to cook?

Last edited:

Deb

Three very special women were the main influence in my cooking. My mom, my grandmother and aunt (grandmother's sister). They all grew up on farms and my aunt & uncle had a small dairy farm while I was growing up. Nothing fancy or heavily spiced was being cooked but everything from scratch - at times that included bread and even yogurt in my house. We spent every weekend during the summer at the farm and I spent alot of that time in the kitchen. There were lots of gatherings of family & friends (many centered around haying) and at 12 I could make ice cream without a recipe. (The first time I opened the SOW's chicken marinade it brought me back to these days because it smelled just like the chicken we had at those gatherings, thanks Kim & Andy). I spent summers peeling bushels of tomatoes and peaches to can, making pickles etc. While all very basic an incredible base which I took and ran with ..........

My dad's mom was also an influence athough I never met her (she passed away when my dad was in high school) - he would talk about the things she used to make (my grandparents came to the US from Italy) - gnocchi, pasta , biscotti etc...

Big Poppa

Administrator