Pellets

Capt Ron

I've been using various smokers for 35 years and love cooking with wood smoke, but as I get older "easier looks better". The pellet fired units look very appealing, but I have not seen one in action. My greatest concern is the availability of pellets.To put into perspective, I live about 70 miles to the nearest Waly World or Home Depot...am I going to have to buy 500# of pellets to keep cost down and insure that I have fuel? How many pounds can I expect to consume smoking 3 or 4 butts at 225?

Thanks

MAK DADDY

With the MAK you would use around 10lbs for a 15hr cook, you can smoke up to 8 at one time.
I would check with the pellet manufactures to see where their nearest dealer is to you.

jmeitz

Jeremie I dont consider these tests to be gospel...Bob what do you think?

I agree, but i have noticed a big difference in consumption between grills, especially when its cold out. Some of my old grills would go through over 20lbs in a 16hr cook at temps below 50 while others only use 10-12 lbs.

vesteroid

I suspect they were accurate for that one spot on the country with that one ambient temp range.

As I live 4500 feet higher than that tester, and its much colder here I find I use considerably more.

while I think its a decent guide, dont take it as thats how many you will use in all cooks where you live.

Big Poppa

Administrator
different people tested different grills too...in different locations. lets get back to the original topic.

MAK DADDY

Our testing was very different but we are in a different climate and used different pellets. I actually see an increase in efficiency when it's colder and dryer, the humidity seems to play a roll as well.
No way could you burn 20lbs in 16hrs below 250 degrees with any pellet cooker I have seen.
Here is the pellet consumption test we performed on the 2 Star here in Oregon with Bear Mountain Hickory.
Smoke .48lbs/hr
200 .63lbs/hr
300 1.25lbs/hr
400 1.62lbs/hr
High 2.3lbs/hr