1 Star vs. 2 Star

BigRed

I am new to the smoking world. I went to my local fireplace/grill store and almost fell into a Chinese built pellet smoker...thankfully I discovered a much better option in the MAK...before I made that mistake.

I need some help deciding between 1 and 2 star. Here's my situation:

Don't own a smoker now.
Mostly cooking for my family with occasional extended family gatherings, friends over.
Camp in summer and would consider loading it in the truck to take camping if feasible.
Cost isn't the deciding factor
Live in upper midwest with cold/windy conditions in the winter.

Looking for some opinions on which way I should go.

Thanks

Chili Head

I have the two star and after having it for 7 months I think I would have been happy with the one star too. The smoker box on the side of the 2 star is nice for smoking cheese and keeping food warm after it's cooked plus I like the shelf factor. With a one star I would have purchased a shelf anyway. The two star has the pellet dump door..I love this feature and I use it all the time. The one feature I really dont use much now is the ash door..I have a small dedicated shop vac I use to clean the ash out with. I think you'll be happy with either one. I love my MAK and I cant imagine being without one.

Meat Man

They are both great units, the flame zone on the 2 star if very useful. I believe they are making a flame zone for the 1 star. If your are not in a hurry MAK is coming out with new models this year, 1000 sq inch 4 star and a 3 star that is larger I also believe these new units will be insulated. If you want to see the prototype google MAK 4 star images it is awesome.

Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk

squirtthecat

I have the 1 Star and love it. It's a smaller footprint from the 2 Star - but not that much smaller.

I've loaded it in the back of my truck to haul around on a couple occasions. You can do it by yourself - with a bit of leverage.