Italian pulled pork with Apricot foster for dessert

Chili Head

I'll start us off !!

I decided I would make something I've never done or seen before. Shoot'n from the hip LOL :cool:

I picked up a pork butt on my way home from work and decided to make Italian pulled pork with some Louies Italian beef seasoning I picked up earlier in the day.
I used some garlic EVOO on the butt then mixed one packet of mix with 3/4 cup of water and I had intended on injecting the butt but my needle was too small..the spices kept clogging the holes..I ended up using a knife and made small slits and poured as much mixture in as I could. I then took another packet of the louies mix and dusted the butt with it.

29.jpg

With a full hopper of hickory and the pellet boss set for two hours of smoke then 255º
until I stop it it was time to put the butt on. BRRR it's cold at 3:30 am!

30.jpg

31.jpg

I'm up at 11am and the butts up to 185º..another 10º to go. I tell ya what..My yard smells fantastic!!

g.jpg

It's done! Going into FTC for a couple hours.

32.jpg

Continued..

Chili Head

Time to pull some pork! Fresh out of FTC..isnt this beautiful? And the smell..I just want to grab a hunk and chow down!

006-10.jpg

007-7.jpg

008-9.jpg

Nice smoke ring and lots of bark!

Into the crock pot with some peppers, pepper juice, another packet of Louies Italian seasoning mix and 6 cups of water. I added the water a cup at a time over several hours until the taste was right and the amount of ajus looked right.

33.jpg

After about 5 hours in the crock pot here's what we got. A perfect batch of italian pulled pork! This is on our "to do again" menu for sure! And it's even going to be better the next day ;)

024-4.jpg

Lets back up a couple hours..

While the Italian Pork is doing it's thing in the crock pot I baked a couple potatoes in the MAK at 450º. Covered in EVOO with garlic and dusted with some fresh ground sea salt they were ready to go in.

014-8.jpg