If it ain't broke, don't fix it!

Bear

Just wondering how many like to change their recipe with every cook. I'm the type that once I find something that I like, I usually stick to it. I've been cooking butts pretty much the same way for at least 10 or 12 years. I like them that way, and so does just about everyone that has tried them.

I'll try new ideas on some things, and if it is better, I'll stick with that until something better comes along.

I guess my question is, how many like to try something different every time out of the gate?

FLBentRider

I don't change with every cook, but I very rarely cook 1 of anything. We have our "go to" rubs and recipes, but I will try new ones on another rack/butt/whatever.

For example, if I do four butts, I'll do two with my "usual" rub. and experiment with the other two.

SmokinMAK

I'm new enough at this whole BBQ thing that just about every cook is something new or done a little different. I'm sure when I hit my "home runs" I'll get superstitious about my methods and stick to whatever it is that works best for me.

squirtthecat

I'm with FLBR. I'll do a 'mass quantity' of stuff, and set one thing aside and do it different.

Or, I'll do just one big thing, and take it to the office for feedback.

TentHunter

Wow, great question!

I tend to stick to what I like for most cooks, but I do like to change it up now and then trying new recipes techniques, etc. If I'm developing a new recipe, then I'll change it a little each time I cook/use it keeping a log of what changed so I know what worked/didn't work.

Big Poppa

Administrator
I love playing around and in most cases evaluating new rubs and sauces.....for example i wasn't using Carolina treat and I'm on a run with that. I also find that I use the same basic techniques but love to play around with different flavor profiles

danl