Bacon Explosion New Mexicaine

PaulyT

Time for some more experimenting...

The weave, with a "rub" of cumin, chili powder, and onion powder:

DSC8900-M.jpg

Topped with New Mexican green chile and mozzarella - yeah monterey jack probably woulda been more traditional, but I had a bunch of this lying around...

DSC8901-M.jpg

Added a couple eggs; in Santa Fe, it's not uncommon to request e.g. a green chile enchilada with an egg on top. A little fresh-ground pink peppercorn.

DSC8902-M.jpg

Finally, a little chopped crispy bacon on top:

DSC8903-M.jpg

Rolled up and ready to smoke @ 225, using GMG brand pellets (which is all I've got until my next order from BPS arrives :cool: ) :

DSC8905-M.jpg

I gotta learn to put less stuff on here... my problem is that I want too many things and then it gets hard to roll up and the weave is bursting at the seams... oh well, it seems to be holding together, but I doubt I'll get the nice spiral pattern in the cut finished roll. But I'm a scientist and engineer, presentational details are not my purview. :p The idea here is to combine flavors that are reminiscent of, say, a New Mexican green chile stew. Not necessarily spicy hot (though it certainly can be depending on where you get it, like Tia Sophia's in Santa Fe that has a big sign saying "not responsible for food too hot to eat!" :D ), and I wanted a mild white cheese to add texture and mix with the chile. Minimal seasoning otherwise, so it doesn't overwhelm the green chile flavor.

It's cooking now, will let you know how it comes out in 2.5-3 hours!

FYI I grew up in Los Alamos, NM, and really miss the southwest and green chili dishes in particular! I wish I had some fresh whole green chiles to put in this, but it's not that season yet... plus shipping of those things to MD is godawful expensive, I've looked.

PaulyT

Thanks!

Oops, I forgot to mention, there's a layer of sage-flavored sausage underneath that cheese...

PaulyT