Food Savers...

doodles

I know there are different opinions on this, but I'd love to hear your experience. I've never used one of the vacuum sealers before, and don't imagine I will do a ton of it. But some things I want to do. For example, I want to do turkey breasts which I will either cut into slices (don't have a slicer yet), seal, freeze, and take out when I want them for sandwiches, or seal small slabs, and bring them out and slice them for the same reason. I was thinking of picking up a Food Saver at Costco, but I know some guys say, "heck with it, just get the one at Cabela's!" They're a whole lot more money, so would I be throwing it away by getting the Food Saver? Thanks in advance!~

jimsbarbecue

Which ever you get it will be used. With only three at the house it gets used a lot. The only way to freeze leftovers so you can reuse them later.Had a foodsaver now the Cabelas one. The Cabelas makes a wider seal. My first foodsaver lasted a few years. Try the one from costco if you don't like it or it breaks they will take it back.

CarterQ

Have had a couple of food savers now, we use it pretty regularly and it works great. The Cabela's ones are nice but seem like overkill for the average household. Like Jim said if you have any problems with it Costco has a great return policy. We just get the continuous bag roll and make our own bags rather than buying the pre made sizes. It's definitely a must have for leftovers and storing those deals you find on meat. I would say you would be happy either way.

HoDeDo