Curing Sausage with Celery Juice - An Experiment!

TentHunter

By now you've probably seen that some manufacturers are using a "more natural" approach to curing meats. Instead of using synthetic sodium Nitrates/Nitrites they're using celery juice or celery juice powder. These products are often labeled as, "No Nitrates or Nitrites Added."

Worth reading: "The 'no-nitrites-added' hoax" by Michael Ruhlman.

Disclaimer - I am NOT an expert, nor do I play one on TV. I am just a regular guy who enjoys learning about curing & smoking meats. Also, the USDA currently does NOT recognize celery-based nitrates as an effective means of curing meats. So if you decide to try this at home, PLEASE be smart about safe food handling procedures!

So, how does this work? Well, celery contains high amounts of Nitrate which can break down into nitrite which has meat curing properties.

Why do we even need Nitrites to cure meat? They allow meats retain that pink color and develop the deep flavor that we associate with cured meats. And, more importantly, it can kill the bacteria responsible for Botulism.

Celery juice, in addition to nitrates, also has a very mild flavor and pale color that won't adversly affect the flavor or color of the meat product.

How much celery juice is needed? Ahhh, That's where things get unclear, because NOBODY seems to want to share this info, so here's what I learned.

Nitrate levels in celery can vary, so without testing you simply do NOT know for sure. But, based on research done in 2006, "...commercially available Celery juice contained 2,114 ppm (parts per million) of nitrate." (Sebranek & Bacus, Meat Science | Vol 77 (2007) Pgs 141)

USDA regulations state that nitrite levels between 120 - to a maximum 156 ppm are to be used.

Based on those numbers, I calculated that 1 liquid oz. of celery juice per pound of meat should yield approximately 129 ppm nitrate.

Allright, we've got our info. Now.... On with the experiment!

HR.JPG