Holiday Peperoni - DONE!

TentHunter

The holiday peperoni for the gift packs is done!

Peperoni seasoning mix. The whole house smelled like Fennel after course grinding the seed.
HOL1202.JPG

Mixed with 15 lbs of a Ground Pork/Beef mix (8 lbs pork + 7 lbs beef). In the fridge for a minimum 3-day cure & ferment.
HOL1204.JPG

Sheep casings for the peperoni snack sticks. Also a 2 lb chub stuffed in a muslin casing.
HOL1205.JPG

I using collagen casings this time for the peperoni logs.
HOL1206.JPG

I want a light sweet smoke, so lets go with Sugar Maple on the MAK in smoke mode (about 170°).
HOL1207.JPG

HOL1208.JPG

Same with the Peperoni logs...
HOL1209.JPG

I really like how they turned out with the collagen casings. They are edible (although a little tough), or easily peeled.
HOL1210.JPG

Oh, you know we tried some! ;)
HOL1211.JPG

I've been tweaking this recipe for a few years and think I finally have it dialed in. The family agreed it's the best peperoni we done to date!

Edit: Scooters question below reminded me: After these were cooked & cooled, I allowed them to sit uncovered in my downstairs fridge for three days to continue drying out a bit. The final product is nice and dense with an incredible flavor.

Now, on to the Summer Sausage. More to follow...

Last edited:

TrickyDick

WOW is an understatement!

That looks fantastic!!

I am going to have to try and do this sometime!

My family is worried that I will be less willing to cook on the pizza oven now that the MAK is here,

Homemade pepperoni on the MAK for pizza in the pizza oven could be the ticket to keep all parties happy!

TD

TentHunter

TrickyDick said:
Homemade pepperoni on the MAK for pizza in the pizza oven could be the ticket to keep all parties happy!

TD, now that sounds like a winning combo! How about I bring the peperoni and you bake the pizzas?

scooter

Tent, I didn't know pepperoni needed to be fermented. The final product looks great! Nice job!