Sous Vide Lobster Tails

RickB

My cheap setup. $100 for the controller and already had the crock pot.

IMG_2048_zpsd6093ca5.jpg

Holding a perfect 140

IMG_2049_zpsd7929bf8.jpg

Shell 2 tails. About 5-6 oz each

IMG_2050_zpsfb004f30.jpg

Put the shells in a pot cook to 160. Since I removed the bottom membrane to remove the meat they won’t curl up. This is for presentation only.

IMG_2055_zpsb51b2db6.jpg

Thaw some homemade clarified butter. One cube cut in half for cooking the lobster the other two for dipping.

IMG_2058_zpsc2ec6e41.jpg

Lobster Vac packed

IMG_2060_zps49917920.jpg

Into the sous vide.

IMG_2061_zps37759a72.jpg

Cook at 140 for 45 minutes. Lets plate.

IMG_2065_zps3b4292ba.jpg

This is what the trouble is all about. The best lobster I have ever eaten and that’s sayin something. Buttery melt in your mouth. And this is my first try!

IMG_2066_zps2ed2f387.jpg

Enjoy!

Ozric

Lovely, Rick. Looks like it could have come right from Legal Seafood! I used to love grabbing a couple of bad boys on the way out of Logan airport in Boston. I'd carry them home on the plane and and prepare them immediately. Time of day didn't matter. :) But where am I going to find fresh lobster in Flagstaff? Sigh.

TentHunter

Very interesting, and making me hungry at the same time.

Please tell us more about that controller. How long did it take the water bath to come up to temp?

RickB

Very interesting, and making me hungry at the same time.

Please tell us more about that controller. How long did it take the water bath to come up to temp?

Dorkfood DSV. $99 bucks at Amazon. If you have a non-digital crock pot you are ready to go. Filled CP with 118 degree tap water and it took about 15 minutes to bring to temp.

Kite