Dry Rubs?

Jhagedon

I'm a total newbie to pellet cooking, but I know better than to ask a question like "what is the best rub? So, I'll just ask for some thoughts. I tend to like my food with a little more "heat." My wife is my polar opposite in this area.

So, guess what type of rubs I will be using. :)

But there will be times when I"ll hopefully be cooking for friends, and more for my tastes as well.

Of course, I assume the type of meat I'll be cooking will affect the rub, or whether I'll be using a rub at all, so I'll be interested in hearing any and all thoughts. I did a search on this topic and, suprising to me, only got one hit.

Big Poppa

Administrator
I think that the best part of your new hobby is the discovery....I dont mean this as a commercial plug but there isnt a rub I sell that isnt pretty cool.

What I did was buy Paul Kirks book and the legends of texas bbq and Peace love and bbq and made their rubs....It was fun discovering myself what different spices did to the ending flavor profile.

With rubs tasting it on its own is nice but you really judge it on how it works with the cut of meat

TentHunter

...With rubs tasting it on its own is nice but you really judge it on how it works with the cut of meat

That's a whole lot of wisdom! The best thing to do it experiment, experiment, experiment... to see what you like on which cuts of meat.

I get to try the Smoking Guns 'Gun Powder' rub very soon (order shipped from BPS yesterday). Can't wait to try it!

Its a never-ending journey experimenting with rub flavors, but oh my, what a sweet journey it is :)!

Bear

Sometimes the amount that you use can have a make a big difference in the final outcome. This is especially true when you are talking heat. I have found some rubs that are good when used in small amounts, that I just don't like if I get too much. I don't make my own. There are too many already out there for me to try to top.