1st brisket smoke ever

amoses

I got my pellet grill yesterday (so excited) and I am in the process of smoking my first brisket ever this morning. I hope it turns out great!! I may have some questions as I go along. It was 11.5 pounds untrimmed. I left it untrimmed, covered the meat with Worcestershire sauce and Texas bbq rub, put it on the grill fat cap down and turned it to hi smoke (which is 220 on this grill). in 6 hours or so, when it looks good, I am going to wrap it, then keep cooking till internal meat temp is about 200 - 215 degrees. Sound about right?

I was curious what you do with left over brisket (this will serve way more than we will eat tonight)? What is the best way to package it for later? and what is the best way to reheat brisket when you eat it a day or two later?

I'm a newbie, so any advice is appreciated.

sptucker

Congrats on your new pellet machine, you will love it!

Personally, I would start at a lower temp (170-180 range) for a while to get more smoke ring/flavor -- you will find that there is more smoke at lower temperatures. For instance 2 hours at low temp will get you a lot more smokey goodness than 6 hours at 220, in my experience. BUT, you may be perfectly pleased with what you have started.

I usually wrap when my internal meat temp is 145-150, and don't look at the time at all. Your mileage may vary.