Smoke Daddy on Traeger --Pressure Issues

OccamsTacKnife

Hi everyone, Merry Christmas! I'm new to the forum. I'm Jeff, and I've been cooking BBQ for about 20 years. I got a Traeger last summer, and I've liked it, but I've found the depth of smoke flavor to be lacking in comparison to the stick burners I've used. I've heard great reviews feom people who have added a Smoke Daddy to the Traeger. As luck would have it, my girlfriend got me a Smoke Daddy for Christmas!

I started cooking a turkey this morning. I started out with just the Smoke Daddy going for a couple of hours. The smoke output was great! When I turned the Traeger on to start cooking, it seems the air pressure from the Traeger's fan prevents the Smoke from the Smoke Daddy from entering the cooking chamber. I have it mounted on the back side of the pellet chamber, as low as I could get it, which is about 2 inches below the cooking grate. Has anyone had similar issues, and if so, are there any placement tips or tricks that can solve this?

Thanks, and I look forward to being a part of the community!

Big Poppa

Administrator
Im a little nervous with a turkey on a smoker with just the smoke daddy...what was the pit temp when you were doing that...might be a food safety issue

TentHunter

First, welcome to the forum!

Pit temp while just with the Smoke Daddy was about 34 degrees :)

If that's the case, then you should be OK. Your pit temp was the similar to refrigerator temps.

BUT... Big Poppa brings up a very good concern. Cold-smoking meat that hasn't been cured with nitrites or nitrates, when the weather isn't cold creates a MAJOR food safety issue. It creates the perfect conditions for C. Botulinum to thrive, and Botulism can sure ruin your day!

I'm not sure what to tell you about the Smoke Daddy. You may need to have a little more venting to allow for the extra pressure created by the smoke daddy, but that's just a guess.

OccamsTacKnife

First, welcome to the forum!