temp control problems on louisiana grill

jeeps

Hi. I'm new at this so bear with me. I purchased a new louisiana grill cs 570 this summer. I thought I was upgrading from a Pitboss 820. It seems to be running too hot. At low temps it's acceptable, but the higher I set the temp, the worse it gets. I used two auxiliary thermometers and ran a test last week. I set the temp at 250 and let it run for an hour. the auxiliary thermometers read 275. I then set the temp at 300 and let it run for an hour. the auxiliarys read 335. Last I set the temp at 350 and let it run for an hour. The auxiliarys read 400. The auxiliary thermometers were always within 3 degrees of each other, and were placed in the the same location as the grills pit probe. Has anyone else had this problem, and if so, found a fix? I did pulled pork on it last weekend and it came out great, but I had to baby sit. Definately not a set and forget unit. Any help would sure be appriciated.

TentHunter

First things first...

Welcome to the forum!

Now... Is your grill's pit probe clean? Grease and smoke residue build up on those things and can cause it to misread the temperature. I have learned to keep mine clean with with either a small piece of wet steel wool or a Scotch-Brite pad and some dish detergent water regularly.

If that doesn't fix it, then you should call Louisiana Grills. They should be able to help you troubleshoot this.

jeeps