PID controler question

jeeps

Earlier this summer I purchased a new Louisiana Grills CS 570. This is not my first pellet grill, but it is my first pellet grill with a PID controller. The first 6 or 8 cooks I hated it. I would start the grill, set the temp to 225, and within 20 minutes the temp would sore to 285 and then take forever to come back down to anywhere near the set temp. Over an hour. Now after 15 or 20 cooks I start the grill, set the temp to 225, And the grill temperature slowly rises to about 235 and settles there. This takes about 30 minutes. Great! OK, now for my question. I have read that a PID controller's performance will improve after several cooks. Is that true or did I just have a bad dream or something?

scooter

I regret to inform that I have zero experience dealing with controller issues because my controllers are MAK Pellet Bosses which since 2009 have never given me an ounce of trouble. Not a hugely helpful response but definitely a sincere one. Hopefully someone with more experience with PID controllers will be along soon to assist.

jeeps

I regret to inform that I have zero experience dealing with controller issues because my controllers are MAK Pellet Bosses which since 2009 have never given me an ounce of trouble. Not a hugely helpful response but definitely a sincere one. Hopefully someone with more experience with PID controllers will be along soon to assist.
Thanks scooter. Main thing is it's cooking pretty good now.

TentHunter

Yes, PID controllers, from what I know, are suppose to get better after at least a few cooks. They learn and remember the various conditions that affect temp swings, etc. and adjust accordingly.

jeeps

Yes, PID controllers, from what I know, are suppose to get better after at least a few cooks. They learn and remember the various conditions that affect temp swings, etc. and adjust accordingly.