My name is Brenda and I am an amateur smoker

insanityltd

I got a smoker as a Christmas gift. I know it sounds odd, but I made an off-handed comment to my mother about "I wish I could get a small smoker so I could smoke pig ears for my dog and quit getting charged $15 a pound for the pre-smoked ones at WalMart!" :p Well. that set it off and running. So here I sit with my new Christmas gift learning some things and trying experiments. So far my husband, kids and dog are enjoying the experiments.

So far I've done ribs (turned out delicious..even though my smoker is too small to do full racks without cutting them in 1/2 :mad: ) potatoes, (also good) pig ears for my 4-legged brat (sorry didn't try those, but he loves them. :rolleyes: ) and I'm making my first attempt at a ham this weekend.

My mom bought me a basic electric smoker (locker type). My step-dad smokes turkeys, so I've taken some pointers from him but so far I've already smoked a larger variety of things than he has although he's been smoking for 20 years. I'm buying the wood chips, not the pellets, since we don't have pellets sold around here. But so far I'm liking it so much, that if its not a passing fad, I'll be requesting a bigger and better smoker next Christmas! :cool: As much as my family LOVES smoked meats, I've got a feeling I've got a new hobby! :eek:

squirtthecat

Welcome! I started with a Electric Box smoker as well.. (still use it from time to time for controlled low temperature smokes)

Whereabouts in the Midwest? I'm from Central, IL....

CarterQ

Welcome aboard, great story on how you got your foot in the door! If your like the rest of us, it probably will not be a passing fad, you've come to right place to learn all about smoking. No matter the cooker most of the tips a techniques you see here will work. Just ask lots of questions and enjoy your new found hobby! BTW have you tried the pig ears for the pooch yet?

insanityltd