What would you do? Pb 440d

Slowgoin

Hello all

I’m new to pellet smoking/grilling. I bought I new PB 440d about a month ago.

My current issue is that my pb was set to smoke for starting up as directed by the instructions. After that, I set it to 225 degrees for my smoking of a 4.5 lb pork butt/shoulder. Time wise it should take about 6-9 hrs? This is what I found on the net and here also. So, I put it on and go to it. I came out about 1 hr later only to find that my pb was hitting 330 degrees on the digital controller and holding for approx. 8 mins til it dropped to 280 degrees. So now I feel the need to sit and watch for a
few. This continued all day long. Although this happened, it still took 8 hrs to complete. What’s actually happening?
My digital thermometer on the pb hit 350 a lot. And held a bit. But my cheap gauge on the hood only read between 200-250. 200 ish when the smoker wasn’t firing up on new pellets. It only hit 250 (hood)when the pb was burning new pellets. So I’m a bit lost. The pork butt was a success!! Tender, juicy and very tasty.
Temp outside was about 85 for the high. I started it in the am and temps outside were 76.
What thermometer would you actually go by? PB lady ( Mandy ) says to use the digital temp on the control panel.
I did clean out the crucible before firing up the grill. I can get use to ignoring it all if the times needed to cook are accurate. But to be honest, it’s bothering me that the swings are so very high! I’m used to accuracy of my equipment I use to house all my boa constrictors and inside garden . So with 100+ degree swings, it’s annoying for now.

I did ribs the first time and the temp swings were around 70 degrees. Ribs took 5 hrs though. Next up
were whole chickens and temp swings were still around 70 degrees. Took I think 5 hrs also.
Smoking time are pretty close to what they should be, but temps are all over the place.