Traeger Temperature Drift

rscotty

I just purchased a Traeger 300 yesterday and have my first smoke going - a pork shoulder on it right now.

I've noticed that the digital controller has a tendance to drift quite a bit. Set on 225 with an ambient temp of 40 degrees, I've seen temps of 260 degrees which was a bit disappointing. I've tinkered with P setting and currently have it set to P1 which seems to have tightened up the temperature range.

Is this normal for the Traeger? I realize that there will be swings as pellets are delivered to the burn pot. I was hoping for better control though. Are there any other calibration procedures / settings other than the P setting that would help here?

Thanks,
Rich

Big Poppa

Administrator
Rscotty Welcome I have no experience with the 300...Is that the one where the pellet hopper is inside the cooking chamber?

TTNuge

Sorry to say that's one reason my Traeger lasted less than a month and I ended up with a MAK. I think with P setting adjustments you can get it better but I never was that successful and took the easy way out.

rscotty

The 300 is the model with the internal hopper. Mechanically, it's identical to the Lil Tex Elite. Its just been 'prettied up' a bit which was important t the spousal unit.

The change in the P setting has stabalized the temp at 238 with the controller set at 225 which is more than acceptable. The radical swings I was seeing seem to have gone away as well.

Temperature fluctuation is normal with virtually all cooking devices. Try taking some temp readings of your oven with an IR thermometer sometime :)

I'm not anal about it, but was concerned when it was running at 250 - 260. It seems to be running fine now, but I'm keeping a close eye on it for now. Its all part of the learning curve with a new pit.

Rich

Rip