First W/E with MAK 2 Star, Bacon, Pork, Ribeyes, A.B.T's, Avocado, Spatchcock Chix

FullFat

Spent the holiday weekend getting acquainted with #952. Prior to my purchase of the 2 Star, I looked at 100's of pictures showcasing everyone's great looking food and recipes. So, with that in mind, I did my best to chronicle my first "weekend" with this amazing machine. Please keep in mind that I am a total newb in the smoking world. I can't believe how easy it is to make great food on the MAK.

Took about an hour to assemble on Friday morning and once the burn-in process was complete, I was off and running with my first cook....Bacon!!!

Won't stay this clean for long
IMG_0070.JPG

Quick dinner on Friday night.
Ribeyes with BP Garlic Salt and Bella Mushrooms
IMG_0120.PNG

After dinner, prepped an 8lb pork shoulder with an injection made from beer, worcestershire, siracha, apple juice, salt, and sugar. Used Big Poppa's smoking technique, 225° until internal temp reaches 165°, pull and foil, return to MAK until it reaches 185°, then put in cooler surrounded by towels. During the cook, I got up out of bed every 90 minutes to spray the meat and check the temperature (shows my inexperience).

6am Saturday morning.
IMG_0079.JPG

After foiling, the temp quickly jumped to 207° so I was terrified that I had ruined the pork. Couple hours in the cooler, it was time for the unveiling.

Click for video...pardon the baby noises in the background.

Money Shot
IMG_0087.JPG

Next up....A.B.T's!!! These were so good, I made them on Saturday and Sunday for a couple parties.
IMG_0093.jpg

Sunday
Spatchcock Chicken with Garlic Butter Injection
IMG_0098.JPG

IMG_0109.JPG

Hickory Smoked Avocado
IMG_0102.JPG

This was the best chicken my 11 month old has ever tasted...Well, it's actually the only chicken she's ever tasted but she wasn't complaining.
IMG_0112.JPG