Do different woods make a difference in the flavor?

PaulyT

Green Mountain Grills' website says the following (in the FAQ section):

Why doesn’t GMG make ‘flavored’ pellets?
The flavor molecules in wood fiber – guaiacol (gweye-a-kol) – come from the combustion of lignin which is found almost equally in all hardwoods. We hate to destroy the myth of flavored pellets, but different species of hardwoods do not produce different flavors in food. Sorry.

What do you all think? Is it a myth? Or are they just trying to excuse why they only make one type of pellet? :p Right now I'm using theirs, I bought one bag with the grill, but I will certainly try other brands and woods at some point; I'm a scientist, I need to experiment for myself. :cool: But still, I'm curious what the general consensus is from those of you who've been doing this for a long time.

ACW3

Interesting comments on their part. The "smoke" from the burning/smoldering wood pellets does, IMO, flavor the food when you cook "low-n-slow". Different blends of wood give different flavors to the meat, cheese, etc. Every chance I get o try a different flavor or brand of cooking pellets, I try them. Some are definitley better than others. If their claim were true, then all flaored pellets would taste the same. This is just not true. It is difficult to distinguish (sometimes) between wood flavors from the same family of woods. But with practice, I believe you can. For example, pecan and hickory are "similar", but, again IMO, pecan is lighter in flavor than hickory.

Art

Big Poppa

Administrator
Let me throw a curve ball...I really cant tell that much difference......but some can...ask them for a picture of their pellet factory....hehehehe I dont believe they make pellets.

TentHunter

I think Art's is 100% right, and GMG is blowing smoke (pun fully intended). :p

I too can tell a difference, although, admittedly, that difference is often subtle and much more prevalent when cooking Low & Slow versus Hot & Fast.