Deciding between 1-star and 2-star

shza

Hi all -- I am a total newbie to smoking, though I've done a bunch of reading and have checked out (and sampled the delicious results from) a friend's ~2012 2-star.

I have read the threads here on the differences between the 2-star and the updated 2016 1-star, which seem to be three: (a) stainless versus powder-coated exterior; (b) smoker box; and (c) flame-zone.

I don't really care about (a) -- we live in the Bay Area in a temperate year-round climate and it won't take much of a beating. I'll buy/use a cover. I do grant that the 2-star is generally nicer-looking.

(b) is also not a big deal to me. I could see myself trying out smoking salmon and maybe even getting into that, but it wasn't even on my radar as something I wanted a smoker for.

(c) seems to be the biggest difference then. Some thoughts/questions on that:

1. It would be great to have an all-in-one solution and get rid of the Weber gas grill I currently have. But everything I've read (including at amazingribs.com) suggests that neither the MAK 2-star, nor really any other pellet grill, is going to give you a great sear. So one option would be to get the 1-star and spend some of the savings on something like a Solaire Everywhere, which would be used as a small, single-purpose IR searing tool (reaches over 800 degrees). That is sort of where I'm leaning at the moment.

2. Is the 1-star really a grill at all, or is it best thought of as just a smoker oven? Am I correct that without the flame zone, it does not do direct heat at all?

3. What are the advantages of the 2-star versus getting the 1-star and a separate searing device? (other than (a) and (b) above, which aren't major considerations for me) What would I be able to do with the 2-star that I would not be able to do with the combination of the other two devices?