Gear junkie thinking about a MAC

Joe Yeti

Hi Everyone,

I am a closet chef/foodie with G.A.S. (Gear Acquisition Syndrome). I love cooking and great food. I have a large BGE, a Weber Natural Gas Summit Grill, a wood fired Pizza oven, A Smokin it #3 Electric Smoker, and a Wood Fired Pizza Oven. OK - I have a problem :D. My REAL problem is I find that I am not using the tools that make the BEST food as much anymore. Maybe I am getting old, but coming home after work I just do not want to go through the chore of getting the Egg ready for a cook so I end up using the electric for smokes and the gas Weber for grilling. Sure the food is OK, some even good, but it is not like it is when I use the Egg. Doing a low and slow 200 degree prime rib on the Electric smoker is rather lackluster compared to the BGE that gives me a 130 degree mahogany masterpiece with no grey banding.

A few years back I got in this same rut and bought a Traeger Texas on a whim. It had crazy temperature swings, dialing in one temp on the dial never came close to the actual run temps. I even tried adding bricks to increase the thermal mass hoping it would even out, all that did was make the cart wobbly. I sold it 2 months later for a beating on Craigslist.

I am about to redo my 20x16 screen room and are thinking about evicting my electric smoker (and the 2 basket Cajun Fair fryer I somehow bought and do not use - Cajun Fryer 6 Gallon Deep Fryer With Stand And 2 Baskets : BBQ Guy) and getting another pellet grill. What caught my attention was the RecTec 700. It has a PID controller and a ceramic ignitor and is made of 10 gauge steel with stainless on the cooking areas. It is about $1750 delivered. Then i started doing a lot more reading and saw MAK grills and liked the 2 star. It seems pretty clear that the MAK is a better device after doing a lot of reading. I am a STRONG made in USA believer as well.