Post Number 1

dubob

I've been smoking meats for probably 30 years on every thing from Little Chef to my current Bradley wl PID controller. Mostly been doing fish and jerky with a few game birds thrown in for good measure. I decided last month that I should maybe buy a pellet grill due to their popularity; lots of friends and neighbors now have them and are telling me how great they are. I jumped in with what my research indicated was one of the best and bought the Camp Chef Woodwind SG with Sear Box.

I've had it now for about 3 weeks and have done pork steak; boneless, skinless chicken breast; baby back ribs; and sirloin steak. I've been pleased with the results so far and look forward to many successful cooks in the future. I also joined a couple of other smoked meat forums to increase my knowledge base on pellet grills and pellet smoking/cooking. I found this site on Google just this morning and immediately registered. Thank you Big Poppa Smokers for providing this forum.

My first bag of pellets were Pit Boss from Wally World at $8.88/20# bag. I then did some searching on the other sites I registered on and found that a better product might be either Smoke Ring or Lumber Jack (LJ). Searching locally, I found there is only one vender selling Smoke Ring pellets in Utah and that store is about 40 miles away. The Lumber Jack products are available from several stores within 15 minutes drive from my house and I can get them for $12.99/20# bag. I bought 4 bags of the LJ in Competition MHC and will stick with that for the time being. I may try some straight flavors in the future after I get more familiar and comfortable with the processes for different meats.