Upper grate or griddle

Taeter

Took advantage of the Memorial Day sale and ordered a 2 Star General. Now I find out that I have a bunch of poppa points. Sweet! So what do you think is the best bang for the buck (or points).

I’m new to pellets and smoking in general. I can’t imagine at this point of doing more than 1 brisket, 2 pork shoulders, 4 racks of ribs and maybe a turkey. So what would get more use. The griddle or a full upper rack. Full upper because I’ve read that if needed I could use it as a lower rack and use 1 of the existing lowers as a 1/2 upper. Is that right?

Or is there another accessory that you just can’t live without.
I also have the MAK Mobile coming so take that off the list.

Thanks

rwalters

Welcome to the MAK family :) My most used MAK accessory is hands down the full upper grate. That’s what has my vote!

Taeter

Thanks for the input rwalters
Just realized I also need to ask why an accessory is your fave.
Like with the full upper grate. Is it because it’s better for veggies, food gets more even smoke at the top than the bottom, or you consistently cook for the neighborhood and need the extra space.

TentHunter

The griddle or a full upper rack. Full upper because I’ve read that if needed I could use it as a lower rack and use 1 of the existing lowers as a 1/2 upper. Is that right?

Here's my 2¢ worth (and you can keep the change ;)).

If you have to choose between one or the other, then get the FULL upper rack now, and add the griddle later (but definitely add it)!

Full upper rack versus 3/4 upper rack

Yes... I know that the 3/4 upper rack is more "popular," but the let's discuss this for a moment because I believe that how and what you cook most often will determine which rack you should get.

3/4 Upper rack advantages

● 75% more cooking capacity.

● Easier to reach smaller food items on the rear of the bottom grate.