Advice on Used 2 Star

Greg23

I’ve been using a Camp Chef for a couple years at really have enjoyed it, nothing bad to say about it except the build quality is obviously lacking. I would still call myself an enthusiastic amateur, and I usually pull out the Weber summit for weekday quick duty. I’ve been looking at upgrading my smoker to something mid range mostly stainless build like a Rec Tec or Grilla. But I recently ran across a 2015 Mak 2 Star General for $1250. Sounds like a pretty good price and I haven’t seen it in person but from the age photos and build quality it looks fine.

I have a couple questions, what do you think about the value of the last generation Mak? And second, do you have any advice on what to look for when buying a used one? I would take it through startup and make sure the auger works but seems like it would be hard to test the controller other than seeing that it starts normally.

I also probably have to sell my Weber Summit for the garage slot, because I don’t want to keep the Mak outside. How was the previous flame zone for direct grilling? I think I’ll miss it and my grill grates for things like fajitas with a pile of peppers and onions.

Any advice?

jimsbarbecue

Good price. All MAK grills are upgradable..that said we have a early models that we have upgraded over the years. If it was still exactly the way we purchased it from Big Poppa Smokers. It would be a great cooker. Upgrades just make them better and Big Poppa has them!

TentHunter

1) You can still use your grill grates in the MAK (provided they fit).

2) That seems like a decent price, but I'll bet you can get it for a little less, which might leave some room for you to upgrade to the newest FlameZone.

mcschlotz

Cliff, didn't I read somewhere that the newer internal FlameZone upgrade only fits 2016 and newer MAK 2 Stars? Or was that in reference to the MAK 1 Star?

Matt

Last edited:

Josh@MAK

Hi Matt,