Ash removal

Sanjosedaale

I’m in the market for a new Pellet Grill. I’ve been using a Green Mountain Grills, Davy Crockett for the past 5 years. I purchased this for the portability in our RV, and its given me a good understanding of pellet cooking, it suits me perfectly.

In doing some initial research, I had come to the conclusion that MAK was one of the best suits sold. Although it’s doesn’t seem to be in the same league, the Camp Chef, with the ash removal feature really hits home for me. I’ve learned my Davy Crockett needs very frequent ash removal, in fact I‘ve gotten into the habit of emptying it for every cook, to get best performance. I’m guessing Camp Chef has a patent on that feature, it seems like such a convince that others would offer if they could?

My question is about ash removal on MAK, Yoder, RecTec (my 3 main contenders) in terms of ease and frequency? Perhaps, a larger unit my not need the frequent cleaning that the little Davy Crockett has required?

Great forum!
Dale

mcschlotz

It will come down to what pellets are used (some create significantly more ash than others) and how long each smoke takes when it comes to a fire pot starting to fill up, which can cause a unit to flame out. Bottom line cleaning out the fire pot is always a good practice regardless of which smoker or pellets one uses. Nobody wants to deal with an issue in the middle of a 10-16 hour smoke where you would have to remove meat and handle hot pieces of equipment to resolve the problem. I can easily run a few (3-4) shorter smokes on my MAK 2 Star using BBQ'rs Delight pellets without clearing the pot but, before I start a long smoke I always make sure the fire pot is cleared out. Personally, I use an Ash-Vac. The entire process takes maybe 2-3 minutes max.

Sanjosedaale

Thanks, I too use BBQers Delight pellets. So, of the brands I considering, they all require taking out all the grates, diffuser, etc to access and empty the ash? None are easier or less time consuming?