Wind affect on Camp Chef SmokePro DLX

claysdaddy

Hello, my name is Dave and I'm new to pellet grills. I've been smoking meat for many years on my WSM but thought I'd get the Camp Chef because of the ease. I did my first rib cook last weekend and there was hardly any smoke flavor. When I cleaned the grill I noticed that the dust was all over the bottom of it. The only thing I can figure is because it was a rather windy day the dust blew out of the burn chamber and no fire could be achieved. Am I on the right track with my thinking? If so, is this a common issue?

Thank you

TentHunter

First, welcome to the forum!

Now on to your questions:

Ash/Dust:

The dust you saw on the bottom of your grill is normal. It's nothing more than residual ash from your cook, and EVERY pellet grill has it. Enjoy the fact that there is so little compared to the ash that's typically left over after using charcoal.

Smoke Flavor:

The issue here is twofold.

First, the big thing you need to realize about pellet smokers is they are very efficient and clean burning, so you will get a much cleaner, lighter, smoke profile. Even then not all pellet smokers are created equal. Some (like a MAK) are known to give a better smoke flavor than others. There are also ways to improve your smoke profile.

Second, chances are, coming off of a WSM you are used to a much heavier smoke flavor, especially if you were using the Minion method with your charcoal resulting in a much heavier smoke profile (too smoky for some peoples' taste).

Here are some things that affect the level of smoke flavor from a pellet grill:

1) Smoking/Grilling Temperature: Lower temps = more smoke. Hotter temps = less smoke.

For ribs, pork shoulders, brisket, etc. where you want a heavier smoke flavor: