PDA

View Full Version : Temp Probes



El Guapo
05-26-2011, 11:12 AM
Do any temperature probes come with the MAK grills, or do I need to buy them separately?

Thanks!

squirtthecat
05-26-2011, 11:19 AM
My 1 Star came with one.

MAK DADDY
05-26-2011, 11:30 AM
Yes, we send 1 probe with every grill. You can purchase extras if you want at anytime.

El Guapo
05-26-2011, 11:56 AM
Thanks, guys.

So Cal Smoker
05-27-2011, 07:24 AM
I think most folks end up with three.

JoePilot
05-28-2011, 11:53 AM
And speaking of temp probes. How long do they normally last. The one included with my two star is now stuck at 490ish. Only cooked on it a bit more than ten times...:confused:

Big Poppa
05-28-2011, 03:52 PM
Probes are the achilles heel...the stock probes with all grills and thermometers will not last if exposed to direct heat or if they get wet.
You should always have a few extra because the probes know when its an important cook....I think Murphys law makes them I will start a thread on care of probes

mak has the expensive but worth it armored probes that are pretty much bullet proof with proper care

MAK DADDY
05-29-2011, 10:55 AM
We have the new M1 Armored probes that are working fantastic and also have found a better standard probe that we have on order but it will be a few more weeks. Hang in there we are working hard to make these unreliable probes old news!

Patrick_CT
05-29-2011, 01:05 PM
How do know they have failed? Will the controller give a very wrong reading or a fault? Or can it just be off by 5 -10 degrees, just enough to ruin a dinner? I am just not sure how I should make sure that they are always working.

Big Poppa
05-29-2011, 07:19 PM
youll know it.....32 degrees on the memphis and over read by a hundred on mak and maverick

smoker pete
05-29-2011, 08:43 PM
How do know they have failed? Will the controller give a very wrong reading or a fault? Or can it just be off by 5 -10 degrees, just enough to ruin a dinner? I am just not sure how I should make sure that they are always working.

When mine failed on the MAK it read "HIGH". Nothing but "HIGH" ...

ht01us
05-30-2011, 07:35 AM
Mine read 141 at the beginning of a cook when it was in a cold pork butt.

JoePilot
05-30-2011, 08:53 AM
Mine read 491....
Ordered the Armored probe from BP on Saturday

Techy
05-30-2011, 09:10 AM
I'm looking at the Mak 1, are the old probes replaced when the new probes come in?
Also I'm concerned about using the Mak 1 in the wintertime, is the hood double walled or have any insulation? I'm looking at the Memphis select as well which I know is single walled but stainless steel. Of course I'd like the Mak 2 but it is out of my price range right now. I am considering the advantage as well but that is at the upper range of my budget as well but SS

Thanks,

-Bob

Thanks,

-Bob

Big Poppa
05-30-2011, 09:11 AM
OK kids dont make me a moderator! hahaha

MAK DADDY
05-30-2011, 11:42 AM
Yes, they will either display "High" or 100 to 400+ degrees over depending on your program version. They will never be off by just 10-15 degrees.
The biggest killer I have seen for these standard probes is high temps, I have had a few last over a year at -300 degrees.

MAK DADDY
05-30-2011, 11:55 AM
I'm looking at the Mak 1, are the old probes replaced when the new probes come in?
Also I'm concerned about using the Mak 1 in the wintertime, is the hood double walled or have any insulation? Of course I'd like the Mak 2 but it is out of my price range right now.

We do not warranty the standard probes but have replaced many of them that burn out within the first few cooks at no charge. They are pretty inexpensive but obviously an annoyance when they don't work! As far as cooking in the winter ask Squirt how his MAK 1 Star has performed in the cold :)

Star1021Scott
05-31-2011, 07:03 PM
I don't know why Sterling or Bob even commented on this. Anyone who frequents this forum know both MAK and BPS sell quality products and truly provide a great customer experience.

Now as for probes I had never used them prior to owning a MAK, guess what? I failed to handle it appropriately and now it doesn't work. Guess whose fault? End user...and I've had my MAK for less than 2 months. But at least I learned a valuable lesson, and didn't run off and blame the manufacturer for my error.



Sent from my DROIDX using Tapatalk

aks753
06-01-2011, 07:10 AM
I will attest to the great service. Emails to BP responded to within minutes on a Saturday. Very responsive at Mak as well.

malawoo
06-01-2011, 06:37 PM
I bought two probes with my mak a recieved one with the Mak and I use two of them all the time and no problem with them yet. Love My Mak and the great service.

ht01us
06-01-2011, 07:54 PM
I'll also attest to the quality and service. Based on experience with 3 different products from 3 vendors I know probes are temperamental. MakDaddy is working with his vendors to improve quality

I've read about the customer service and experienced it first hand Sunday morning. BP was on email early Sunday morning; MakDaddy offered to drive almost 100 miles to help me out if I needed it.

Big Poppa
06-01-2011, 08:10 PM
Thanks Howard...

I think that we all knopw that probes are a weak link but you weigh it against the results and control you get and keep a few spares in the warchest

ht01us
06-01-2011, 09:23 PM
Thanks Howard...

I think that we all knopw that probes are a weak link but you weigh it against the results and control you get and keep a few spares in the warchest

Exactly. Thanks again for the help.

MAK DADDY
06-02-2011, 04:48 PM
Are you saying you have received negative service from MAK?
Distortion on the diffusser is normal, it gets to 1000+ degrees...

NorthernSmoke
06-03-2011, 07:02 AM
Just to bring things back to the fore. What are the do's and don'ts for handling a probe ?

What would be a newbie mistake or a way to mishandle that would wreck a perfectly good one ?

Big Poppa
06-03-2011, 08:04 AM
Understand that probes are really essential tool...but are flawed...even the expensive guru ones.

Keep a spare

Do not immerse in water

Do not expose to direct heat

Limit the temp to under 400 degrees

do not kink or knot...

treat them gently...

Star1021Scott
06-03-2011, 07:21 PM
I like when my probes slide in to brisket like butter. That's all i'm sayin`

Big Poppa
06-03-2011, 08:13 PM
Thats what Im talkin about

383inTheD
06-12-2011, 04:42 PM
SUGGESTION: My observation is that it would be better if the wire leads were about 4-6 inches longer for those who want to monitor the temps in the smoker box using the Pellet Boss. Also, if there was a small relief for the wire lead to pass into the smoker box this would prevent possible damage to the temp probe.

Big Poppa
06-12-2011, 05:12 PM
its just a resistance issue....probably use a separate one for the smoker box

MAK DADDY
06-13-2011, 11:59 AM
SUGGESTION: My observation is that it would be better if the wire leads were about 4-6 inches longer for those who want to monitor the temps in the smoker box using the Pellet Boss. Also, if there was a small relief for the wire lead to pass into the smoker box this would prevent possible damage to the temp probe.

Thanks, we have had a few others with the same request. It's difficult to control the warmer as it is exhaust so monitoring it probably would just drive you mad :) We are working on an accessory for the warmer that we will probably add a dial to, stay tuned..