Looking for a little advice on Traeger Tri tip

MattB

Did my first Tri tip this week per Traeger recipe - smoke for 4-5 hrs (I actually did 4 hrs) and then wrap in foil with half cup water for 45 mins at 350F. The one thing I didn't do was to marinade it overnight in BBQ sauce per the recipe.
When I'd finished the smoke - 4 hrs - I checked temp and already had 150-159F throughout. However, being a real beginner I did put in foil and hit it for about 25 mins at 350F. The meat was tasty with nice smoke ring but a bit tough and chewy for the kids. Didn't stop anyone eating it though but it was not tender.

Did I over cook this? And should have aimed for internal of 135-140F? Remember I'm complete beginner so need to work of temps and not feel and experience!!!

If I should have stopped at those temps does this mean my grill needs a temperature re-calibration as it would appear to be hotter than it needs? I do notice that when I smoke temps are more often than not over 200F?

Thanks for all / any advice you guys have. I'm going to try another one tomorrow:D

Nite Ryder