New to the forum, purchasing a pellet smoker soon.

Mojak

Howdy,

I've got my mind set on a pellet smoker and am considering the Yoder 640, Maks and a couple of others. Feedback please! I initially ordered a Traeger but cancelled it due to the great many negative reviews on their products and I feel like I dodged a $1000 dollar bullet, nuff said. I'm new to Pellets so all your suggestions/ input will be greatly appreciated.

Mike

Last edited:

Mojak

Yes, I've been looking at Maks website. They look very nice. Much lighter than the Yoders. 113lbs difference between the Mak 2 and the Yoder 640. Big price difference as well.

Question, I live in Lake Tahoe (6200') very cold in winter. Can someone contrast the two brands for me? What would work best considering altitude and cold winter temperatures. BTW, Tahoe has a very dry climate year round.

Yes! I saw your build, impressive!

Last edited:

So Cal Smoker

Welcome to the forum Mike. You have some tuff decisions to make but do your home work, ask a lot of questions, think about how YOU will be using your cooker and with your 30 years experience with smokers you should be able to make a wise decision. Good luck and good smoking.

MossyMO

Have a Yoder YS640 for over 2 years and have been very pleased with it, I really don't think you can go wrong with a Yoder or a MAK!

Mojak

That's pretty much the consensus on Mak and Yoder. But which one?

I plan to go Low and Slow (I like a fair amount of smoke infused into my meat), I'll pick up a big stainless covered pan, for steaming@ 225-325 and finish up on the grill(Ribs). using which ever unit I buy as a backup grill. I have a DCS 36" for grilling and a 3 burner range for the rest.
So that's my plan and the additional equipment that I will have available in my outdoor kitchen.

TentHunter

Mojak said:
Much lighter than the Yoders. 113lbs difference between the Mak 2 and the Yoder 640...