So pumped!!!

Flipthe Bird

After doing a TON of research and taking the advidse of many on this board I just took delivery of a brand spankin new MAK 2 Star General. I havent been this excited about anything since the birth of my kids.

Saturday is the 1st day I am going to attempt a Brisket and some ribs. If anyone cares, I will post some pics. Needless to say I am having a bunch of friends over and have been hyping the MAK pretty big, so now i'm nervous as hell not to screw up the cook. The ribs are 3-2-1 and pretty straight forward, but the Brisket intimidates the heck out of me!

SeenRed

Hi FTB and congrats on the new MAK! Looking forward to seeing some food pron from your cooks.

Red

Flipthe Bird

Just couldn't wait til Saturday for the big cook. So I threw a slab of St. Louis ribs on for the 1st cook just to give her a trial run. I'll post a few pics tomorrow. I am new to smoking, have done a ton of reading and watching videos. Now it's game time. They should be done 11pm est.

Quadman750

Congrats...Sooooooooooo many things to cook...Sooooooooooo many Rubs/Sauces to try & Soooooooooo many techniques to use...I've found the members on this Forum are very welcoming & chime in when anybody needs info or has a problem, you bought a great pellet smoker & came to the right place.

Flipthe Bird

So the good news is they tasted amazing. The bad news is, when I went to test them to see if they were done, they fell apart into tender abyss. Did I crutch to much parkay, apple juice or tiger sauce in the foil? Didn't really even need the extra hour after foil, but put them back on after foil for 10 minutes to ensure a good bark. Not sure what I did wrong, again tasted amazing, perfect smoke ring but not picture worthy!

scooter

In order to help you determine what you did to overcook them, and I'm assuming from your "fell apart" comment that they were indeed overcooked, you need to supply us with the parameters of your cook.

Welcome to PS.com and to the MAK family!