Stupid newb questions about cooking ribs

PaulyT

I'm displaying my ignorance here, but I'm completely new to smoking (of any sort) and just got my pellet grill last week. I want to do some ribs, and am trying to figure out the general process. I've been reading many threads/recipes here to get an idea of how it's done, but still have a few questions - stuff that you pros take for granted but little details I need clarification on. So here goes... thanks in advance for any/all advice!

Seems like the general outline of a rib cook is:

1) Dry rub the meat and let sit for a while

2) Smoke at 250 +/- 25 for ~2-3 hours

3) Add sauce/glaze and "foil" for ~30 minutes

4) (sometimes) Remove foil and finish at high temp for a bit

Questions:

Is that more or less correct? How do you know when stages #2 and #4 are finished? Ribs may be too thin or too much bone to use a temp probe accurately? Do you put the foil-wrapped package back on the grill during #3, or just let it sit without external heat?

Sorry for the dumb questions. :confused: Hope to try my first rack today!

PaulyT

Thanks! May try that. With a little futzing around I managed to get the membrane off by grasping with a paper towel, but there was a little swearing involved. :p

Wing Commander

Oh yeah, and what do you use to remove the infamous membrane on the bottom?

I use a teaspoon. Works fantastic.

Your other questions are not easy to reply because everybody will have an own method - here is mine:

stage #1: That's right. Many here do add mustard to make the rub adhere to the ribs better. IMHO this makes the rub affect slower to the meat, so let the ribs rest a bit longer. I usually use peanut oil to make the rub adhere to the meat.