15-20 degree difference on Mak 2 Star

Status
Not open for further replies.

Pappymn

I assume this is a "know your pit" type of scenario. But just wanted to ask the experts. No wind and 85 degrees today, burning 100% oak.
4b49f171-b0c9-b2cb.jpg
4b49f171-b0d2-3270.jpg
4b49f171-b0da-8c4d.jpg

TTNuge

Yep, all part of the learning process. Learn the hot and cooler spots on your grill and get the hang of where the sweet spots are. Go buy a can of Grands biscuits and place them around your grate at different spots and see which ones get done faster vs slower, etc.

Big Poppa

Administrator
test the therma pen where the thermocouple is and foiling does affect your temps at ttnuge said....For fun do this same thing in your home oven...eye opening

omahajs

It can be frustrating, but it's more frustrating to dwell on it. I just make PB adjustments based on what the actual temps are where the food is.

I have no idea why the probe is back left, but I'm also not an engineer. I agree it would be nice to set PB and get that temp at grate, but you can work around it.

For example, I asked Sparky for advice on ribs. He cooks them at 275. For my 2012 MAK 2 I set the PB to 245 and that keeps my center grate temp around 265-275 and works for me. I also like 245 better because the fan stays at a lower speed (ramps up higher @250) and I get way more smoke.

The higher the PB temp the more the actual grate temp difference, at least for me.

Assuming you have 2012 MAK a few other thoughts:

1). Clean PB probe regularly.
2). Check firmware, details in sticky here. If still on 2.1 you WILL have problems on smoke mode.

Even in these 100+ days I get smoke temps around 175-185 on PB and it smokes like crazy! I've noticed the longer the cook the more smoke as well, it seems to settle in over time.

It's an awesome pellet grill, just get to know it and sit back and enjoy the food.

Last edited:

Big_Jake