Best pellets to have on hand

poncho

I'm new to pellet cooking and I'm looking to get five or six bags of pellets to have on hand. I have a friend that can get me a good deal on bear mountain BBQ pellets so I was wondering what are the best flavors to have on hand, I will be starting by experimenting with beef, pork and chicken, and would like to try some steelhead and salmon once I can get the drift boat on the Klickitat. Thanks!

soupyjones

You will get a hundred different answers to that question from any 10 people. I messed with all kinds of flavours of pellets and the mix that has been my favorite so far is 50/50 apple and maple. Lots of guys like apple\hickory too. In the long run there is no wrong wood to use. Try them all and go back for more of your favorite.

Chili Head

Bang for your buck would be oak. Burns hot and has a mild smoke flavor that works with everything. If you want to mix I like hickory,maple and cherry. Apple and hickory. Lots of choices and combinations. I always try to have just plain oak on hand though.

poncho

Thanks for the ideas this is exactly what I was after, on my last night shift tonight so tomorrow I get to try making up some ribs, can't wait!

Chili Head

Since BBQ delight has 70% oak as a base I never mix BBQ delight oak with any other BBQ delight flavor. I have been mixing 100% hickory,maple,cherry or hickory and apple. To answer your question..I have not mixed 100% oak with any other 100% flavor wood. Sorry I almost got off track lol. I would like to try the pecan in pellet form. I've used pecan in my Bradley and liked it a lot.

Kite

Since BBQ delight has 70% oak as a base I never mix BBQ delight oak with any other BBQ delight flavor. I have been mixing 100% hickory,maple,cherry or hickory and apple. To answer your question..I have not mixed 100% oak with any other 100% flavor wood. Sorry I almost got off track lol. I would like to try the pecan in pellet form. I've used pecan in my Bradley and liked it a lot.