getting a 2 star for Christmas, some questions!

Bithlord

So, the wife is getting me a 2 star for Christmas, and we(I) have a few questions:

First: for the temperature probes, can any standard temp probe work, or do we need to use the make branded ones? I currently have two probes from my old smoker, so I want to know if they need replacing.

Second: does it come assembled, or do I need to assembling it myself when it arrives?

Third: my primary use will be for smoking BBQ. What accessories do you recommend I get with it?

Fourth: is there anything else I should know? I've been running a stick burner for about 3 years now, but this is my first foray into pellets.

Thanks, and merry Christmas!

So Cal Smoker

Welcome to the forum Bithlord. Congratulations, you're about to start a beautiful quest that never ends. The MAK is one of the top three smoker/grills you can buy and it's made in the USA. I've had #210 for over three years and every time I've hit the on button the MAK has worked flawlessly. You're going to love the MAK.
Q1 You must use the MAK probes
Q2 You must assemble the legs, casters, & top. You will need help setting the MAK upright after putting the legs and casters on. This beast is heavy.
Q3 There is one accessory that I use every time I cook and that's the front shelf. When it comes to the other accessories, I would wait and give myself a little time to familiarize myself with my new best friend before buying accessories.
Q4 Don't fuss don't fret with your cooks. It's all about having fun and enjoying the ride. There is a learning curve but with your stick burner experience it should be a short one.
I wish you the best of luck and good smoking. Happy Holidays

Bill

scooter

Get two half upper shelves. This gives you the option of using both for a full upper shelf or just one for a half upper shelf. I cook everything on the upper shelf. This gets the meat as far away from the heat source as possible and up more in area where the smoke lingers.