I get my first Mak tomorrow!

jbentham84

I'm fairly new to this whole thing and have only had a Bradley Original Smoker. Tomorrow I'm going to pick up my new Mak 1 star. I've been struggling with the decision but I think the 2 star is just out of my price range for someone who's as new to it as I am. Plus I'm getting an exceptional deal on 1 star so it's really hard to pass up. It's the brand new model as well. I'm heading down tomorrow morning to pick it up and I can't decide if there's anything I NEED to get with it. I was going to get the upper half grate and then add on as I go. If I'm missing anything I really should have with it please let me know. I'm pretty stoked to get this so if you have any advice/tips etc I'm all ears!

scooter

Welcome to PS.com and welcome to the MAK family! I'd get two upper half racks that way you could have as whole or half upper rack as you needed it. I cook everything on the upper rack and only use the lower grate for overflow from the upper.

So Cal Smoker

Congrats Jbentham84, today is going to be a very special day for you, one you'll not forget. Take a lot of pictures and share the love with all your friends and the fine folks here. Scooter has given you some great advice, I hope you take it. Good luck and good smoking.

Bill

mcschlotz

Don't forget the fuel! IMO, BBQ'ers Delight any type. Congrats & welcome to the MAK family, you're going to love it!

jbentham84

The first batch of food turned out amazing. Probably the most moist chicken I've ever had. I did 3 racks of baby backs, 12 homemade venison sausages, and 1 spachcooked bacon and garlic stuffed chicken. The only issue I has is I had the grill at 235 and over the whole cook it never got over 220 (according to the pellet boss). If I set the temp to a certain temp unless there some external circumstances like snow or something shouldn't it hold it there? Or at least closer then 15 degrees away?

Last edited:

jbentham84