New to pellets with a question

dbleyepatches

I recently received a GMG as a gift. I have been smoking out of a home made charcoal smoker for about 10 years. Pellet smokers are brand new to me and today is the second time I have used it. Both times the poultry has been completely covered in soot. Is there a way around this? The first time I put the turkey in as it was heating up which I thought was my problem. Today I let the smoker stabilize at 325 degrees and the chickens had been sitting out for an hour and a half or so. :confused:

dbleyepatches

Here is a pic of the ugly bird.

unnamed1-3.jpg
[/URL][/IMG]

TentHunter

Can you post a pic of the grill and then the inside cooking chamber? This seems really odd?

I agree something is not right. You should not be getting soot like that.

Some things I'd check:

Is the fan running properly, nothing obstructing airflow, and the firepot clean so air can get in properly?

What type of pellets are you using?

And last but not least...

Welcome to the forum, Daniel!

dbleyepatches

I will get some pictures up a little later today, my phone is dead right now. I am wondering if the new "optional draft shields" that Green Mountain just started putting on their grills are to blame. They cover the firebox on both sides. The grill was completely cleaned and vacuumed out before this cook. I was using Green Mountains premium pellets so hopefully that isn't the problem. More to follow....

dbleyepatches

Alright, here are the pictures of the new grill. This is a pic of the grill itself.

Here is the grease tray with the cooking grates removed.

This is after the grease tray is removed. This includes the mandatory heat shield and the optional side shields.

Here is the grill with the mandatory heat shield.

..and last but not least here is the fire box with everything removed (sorry it posted sideways).