Newbie here. Pre-purchase question about ash clean out

SHarpGator

I'm new here. Been cooking on a Traeger for some time. Now I'm looking to upgrade. I had narrowed my choices to the 2 star general, the PG1000 and the Memphis pro. I was about ready to pull the trigger for a MAK when I decided to research the ash clean out function some more. It is very important to me not to have to use my shop vac to clean out the ash. Some users told me that the clean out door on the MAK tends to stick, so they end up using a vacuum anyway. Is there a solution to this or maybe has it already been addressed on recent updates?

Thanks

MAK DADDY

The only way it would stick is if grease gets in the bottom of the pit. The older models had a large gap both front and back of the grease tray so you had to be careful where you placed the food or it would drip into the belly of the beast. The 2012 models have a different pan system with no gaps. I have a 2009 grill and the ash door works fine still but I do use it quite a lot too because I don't keep a shop vac at the grill.
Good luck with your purchase and have fun with whatever you decide!
Bob

SHarpGator

Thanks! Just what I needed to know. I'll be ordering soon.

One of my least favorite chores is hauling the shop vac up the stairs to use it for 30 seconds to clean out the grill.

MAK DADDY

I hear ya, I only have a huge one in the shop and it is a pain to move it around in there let alone clear around the house to the grill.
Buy a small whisk broom with soft bristles and a 1 gallon bucket or can for underneath, works great!

Pappymn

One of my least favorite chores is hauling the shop vac up the stairs to use it for 30 seconds to clean out the grill.

I bought a very portable vac for 25 bucks, that is only used to clean out my Mak.

P.S. Go with the Mak ;)

scooter