New guy looking for advice

zackly

I have been smoking in a Bradley Electric for several years. I’m getting ready to retire & want to step up my game with a new smoker. I am a fairly accomplished chef, having graduated from the CIA in the mid-seventies & worked in the industry for many years. Food & cooking are my passion.
I am uncertain as to which type of smoker to buy.
I love the “set it & forget it” convenience of the Bradley but it’s smallish & does not produce the smoke ring & bark I seek. I prefer a smoker that is somewhat “automatic” & does not need to be tended constantly.
I am attracted to LP gas fired smokers because you, seemingly, get a lot for your money & their heat source is powerful so smoking in New England winter weather is less problematic. My big issue is lack of temperature control. I’ve researched this a bit & it seems that no home gas smokers come with thermostats. Why is this?
I also cook sous vide & have a rig including a temperature controller PID & immersion circulator/heater both from Fresh Meal Solutions in Canada. I do some hybrid
barbecue/sous vide cooking where I first smoke the meat, vacuum seal it in a bag, then water bath cook it @ low temperature for up to two days. Pulled pork, short ribs & chuck roasts are awesome this way. Precise temperature control is also important using this method.
Does anyone know of a way to automatically regulate temperatures in a gas smoker, say to +/- 5 degrees F.? I have read on barbecue forums where some technically adept cooks have cobbled together such systems but they are expensive & way past anything I would want to attempt.
Pellet smokers have now come on my radar thanks to Meathead @ Amazing Ribs.